Hearing Decision



EurILCA 6 Youth European Championships & Open European Trophy 2022

Case Number

With Case

Race Number

Hearing Status

Closed

Type of Hearing

Protest - an allegation that one or more boats broke a rule

Valid yes

Date of Race 03/07

Received Time

17:44:21

PARTIES -

ILCA 6 BOYS

Class/Fleet Fleet
ILCA 6 BOYS Yellow

Boat or Committee or Person

Boat - Committee - Role

Represented By/Not Present Jan PACHECO-SLEDZ

POL 216581 BEL 207497

Anders BULTYNCK

Witnesses

Name

Yellow

Case Summary:

Within zone of upwind mark, on oposite tacks, boats collided.

Procedural Matters:

Protestor said "protest" at incident momment.

Facts Found:

- 1. POL 216581 aproached the upwind mark on starboard, entering the zone, and BEL 207497 on port on convergent courses, aiming mast to bow.
- 2. POL 216581 was fetching on close hauled course.
- 3. BEL 207497 passed head to wind within the zone very close under POL 216581 and hit the mark.
- 4. POL 216581 luffed to head to wind before BEL 207497 completed the tack.
- 5. Collision occurred.
- 6. BEL took a one turn penalty.
- 7. No damage.

Conclusion & Rules:

- 1. BEL 207497 touched the mark and broke RRS 31. Since BEL 207497 took the applicable penalty is not further penalized.
- 2. After passing head to wind and before being on a close-hauled course, BEL 207497 failed to keep clear of POL 216581. BEL 207497 broke RRS 13.
- 3. After BEL 207497 passed head to wind from port to starboard, inside the zone, and was then fetching the mark she caused POL 216581 on starboard tack since entering the zone to sail above close hauled course to avoid contact, BEL 207497 broke RRS 18.3.
- 4. BEL 207497 did not avoid contact when it was reasonably possible, and broke RRS 14.
- 5. It was not reasonably possible for POL 216581, right of way boat, to avoid contact with BEL when it became clear the BEL 207497 was not keeping clear. POL 216581 did not break RRS 14.

Decision:

BEL 207497 is DSQ on race 6

Short Decision: Decision Date Decision Time

BEL 207497 is DSQ on race 6 07/07 19:06

Panel Chair Panel Members

Joep Straus Myrto Antonopoulou, Ioannis Kleidonas, Bruno Marques, Ulrich Voglmaier